Skip to main content


Featured Post

Popol Vuh: The Definitive Edition of the Mayan Book of the Dawn of Life and the Glories of Gods and Kings by Dennis Tedlock

This volume can be divided into two parts. First is the introduction of the Popol Vuh; second, the translation of the work itself. It is important to read the introduction as it provides a detailed background of the work of the author and the explanation of the events mentioned in the Popol Vuh. The translation, although not a very difficult read, wouldn't make sense without the exhaustive work of the author.

The Popol Vuh highlights the following: (1) The creation stories, (2) the exploits of Hunahpu One and Hunahpu Seven and Xbalanque and Hunahpu, and (3) the first four men and the stories of their descendants. There is a section describing how the Popol Vuh might be used either as a historical narrative or a store of myths that will provide insights into the life of the Quiche Maya.

Readers need not be versed in Maya mythology to appreciate this book. The writing is easy to understand and the author did a good job in providing additional information about difficult episodes an…

Latest Posts

Honey and Clover Seasons 1 and 2

An Analysis of the Enuma Elish (The Epic of Creation) or The Seven Tablets of Creation, A Babylonian Creation Myth

Alamut by Vladimir Bartol

Solaris by Stanislaw Lem

Assassin's Creed (Movie)

A Spotlight on Asian Epics

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag


Perdido Street Station by China Mieville